skip navigation

SMASH Alumni Playing In College

    SMASH @ AAU Nationals

    06/22/2017, 10:45am EDT
    By SMASH

    Three SMASH teams in Orlando, FL


    SMASH Volleyball Club has three teams competing this month at the 44th AAU Girls' Junior National Championships in Orlando, FL.

    SMASH 17s and SMASH 15s Power conclude their seasons today, June 22, in 17 Club and 15 Club respectively.

    SMASH 18s begin play tomorrow in 18 Premier with a new post-season roster.  

    Congratulations on a wonderful season and have an awesome summer!

    SMASH 15s Win Open Gold at Boston Festival

    03/06/2017, 9:00am EST
    By SMASH

    The SMASH 15s took first place of all 15s teams competing in the Mizuno Boston Volleyball Festival this weekend.

    Head Coach Jim Crandall pointed to aggressive serving, great team defense, and smart decision-making on offense as keys to victory. Crandall said the team's ability to minimize attacking errors in tough situations and win long rallies was a major step forward for the 15s.

    "The biggest improvement was in managing the game by making smart attacking decisions," Crandall said.
    The team entered the Gold bracket Sunday morning riding an undefeated streak with a perfect 10-0 set record through two rounds of pool play.

    In the semifinals, the 15s wasted no time defeating CT Juniors 25-20, 25-15 before smashing Husky 15 National 25-15, 25-19 in the finals to end the tournament with a perfect 14-0 set record.

    Crandall said he was proud of the team's ability to handle adversity. "They displayed mental toughness adapting to new lineups and positions due to a teammate's injury." he said.

    The SMASH 15s were not the only SMASH team to succeed in 15s Open. SMASH 15s Power finished 7th in Open for the tournament.

    Power, coached by Patrick Tom and Aileen Hermann, began the tournament with a strong 2-1 showing in their first pool before being matched up with the SMASH 15s in their second pool.

    The team came out of their second pool seeded in Silver and won a tough-fought 3 set match over Pumas 15 Ebony in the semifinal before falling to CMASS 15 Smack in the final.

    SMASH Alumni Playing In College

    YOG Player College
    Emma Bartlett Brandeis University
    Corinne Cox Dartmouth College
    Avery Spaziani University of Connecticut
    Gianna Scioletti Sacred Heart
    Jenny Weston University of New Hampshire
    Gabriella Ardila Stonehill
    Mackenzie Bright Tufts
    Nica Kolvacik Williams
    Hannah Engstrom Trinity (CT)
    Madeleine Lundburg Wesleyan (CT)
    Azita Bakhtyari WPI
    Paulina Modestow Hartford
    Shannon Roseen Babson College
    Holly Adams Southern New Hampshire
    Alison Sullivan SUNY Oswego
    Jennifer Ayer Middlebury College
    Avery Devoe Ball State
    Margaret O'Brien Hamilton College
    Susannah Phillips Colorado College
    Carolyn Scacchi Southern New Hampshire
    Erica Vendituoli Bryant University
    Julia Flynn Bryant University
    Brooke Gibbons University of New England
    Julia Goyette Assumption College
    Jodi Katz Wheaton College
    Victoria Sutphen Westfield State
    Julia Murphy UMass Boston
    Karolina Serhan Colby College
    Alexandra McDevitt Connecticut College
    Sara Wojciechowski Tufts University
    Lauren Silverman Rivier
    Lilly Benabou Endicott College
    Jennifer Cain Merrimack College
    Shay Feeley Worcester Polytechnic
    Dana Mott Rivier
    Jodie Munchbach UMass Boston
    Madison Creighton Merrimack College
    Mandy Sifferlen Holy Cross
    Keane Brazda Bucknell University
    Victoria Bryan Bryant University
    Chandler Goodwin University of Hartford
    Jennifer Wallace Worcester Polytechnic
    Rachel Wyman Union College
    Maya Midzik Yale
    Jamie Francona US Naval Academy
    Audrey Bizak Catholic University of America
    Meaghan Martin Stonehill College
    Angela Price Babson College
    Krissy Robertson Babson College
    Genna Swanson Springfield College
    Morgan Drew Framingham State
    Tierra Allen Quinnipiac
    Kasey Cameron Western New England
    Tatiana Froehlich Bentley College
    Dana Weston Holy Cross
    Melissa Jewett St. Anselm
    Gabbie Trotter University of Pennsylvania
    Callie Dolan Endicott
    Clara Zinman Trinity
    Jessica McLeod St. Michael's
    Allie Jones Plymouth State
    Ally LeBruno Colby-Sawyer
    Georgia Naumann Connecticut College
    Ellie Brennan Bowdoin
    Hannah Brickley Trinity
    Kate Bellerose Colby College
    Dianna Tauro Salve Regina
    Meg Anderson Middlebury
    Caitlin Barrett Middlebury
    Carrie Cecil Whitman College
    Courtney Dunne St. Michael's
    Melissa Haskell Bowdoin
    Brianna Tribucco Merrimack College
    Casey Whitehead Francis Marion
    Susan Sun Brandeis
    Maria Scocca Bryant College
    Kate Anderson Williams College
    Sarah Berkland Fairleigh-Dickinson
    Julie Clerc Bridgewater State
    Shelagh Dolan Providence College
    Samantha Lupinski Assumption College
    Mina Baban New York University
    Theresa Staulo St. Rose
    Monica Leslie Connecticut Wesleyan
    Molly Barrett Connecticut College
    Michelle Jaques Stonehill College
    Michelle Doody Colby-Sawyer